Which Subclass Visa Should I Choose For Australia: Subclass 189 Or Subclass 491

December 26, 2022by admin0

The two most popular routes for obtaining permanent residency that let foreign nationals live, work, and study in Australia are subclass 189 visa and subclass 491. Both are a part of the General Skilled Migration Program for Australia, which enables people to reside and work there. Depending on your visa, you can either live anywhere in Australia or have a state- or region-sponsored visa. Before relocating somewhere in the nation, you must first reside in that specific state or region for a predetermined amount of time.

Australian visa subclass 189 is a skilled-independent visa that uses a points-based system to identify individuals who are qualified for Australian permanent residency. With an independent visa, the bearer is not required to be sponsored by an employer or an Australian state or territory government in order to live and work anywhere in the nation.

Subclass 189 Permanent Skilled Independent Visa

The Australian visa subclass 189 is the greatest option as it is independent and permanent, enabling applicants to live and work permanently anywhere in Australia. Once this visa is approved, there are no restrictions on it, whether you were onshore or offshore at the time of the application or nomination.

Due to its many advantages, this visa is the most sought-after; nevertheless, due to the small number of occupations eligible for it, only specific experts can apply. The MLTSSL is the pertinent list (Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skilled List).

Due to the government’s decision to issue fewer invites for this visa before the pandemic, it was already difficult to obtain one. There are currently even fewer invitations being sent out as a result of the pandemic.

To put things in perspective, the government invited roughly  40 thousand people to apply for 189 visas. As a result, there is a race for points since the algorithm invites those with more points first, causing the invitations to expire before inviting others with fewer points. Only those with 90 or 95 points have been invited in some months.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491 Visa

The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) (subclass 491) visa is for skilled workers who desire to live and work in regional Australia for up to five years. The candidate can apply for a permanent residency visa after working for at least three years in the regional area of Australia.

The applicant does not need an employer to sponsor them for a 491 visa. However, you must be sponsored by an eligible family member who lives in a regional area of Australia or be nominated by the state or territory government.

The 491 is a point-tested visa designed in particular for skilled individuals whose jobs are on the list of qualified occupations. You must receive a minimum score of 65 to be eligible.

In the End

Australian visa subclass 189 and Subclass 491 visas are both excellent choices in their own right. Even though the subclass 189 visa is somewhat competitive, the end result is permanent residency. The regional 491 visas might seem simpler to obtain, but these are temporary visas that require three additional years before you can apply for permanent residency.

Want to learn more? Get in touch with professional and licensed immigration consultants. PeraVisa is a well known immigration expert assisting with legal advice to those who want to move abroad from India. We are also the best Canada PR consultant providing solutions and meet all requirements concerning Immigration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit Our Overseas Sites

Pear Visa Logo

Our goal is simple, to provides solutions and meet all requirements concerning Immigration, Overseas Education, Investor programs, and all Visa Services across the globe. We were founded on this principle and we will always be committed to it.

Our Offices
Immigration Services
Get In Touch

Copyright by PearVisa

© 2022 PearVisa | All Rights Reserved.